A Memorable Mardi Gras

5Look over the list of extraordinary experiences I’ve had over the years and you might imagine it’d be hard for me to get really revved up about anything anymore. Well, let me tell you, you couldn’t be more wrong.

Case in point: I’m heading off to partake of Mardi Gras in New Orleans in a couple of weeks and I’m practically giddy about the experience I have planned. You see, while I’ve always had a blast being part of the crowd at Mardi Gras parades, this time around I’ve figured out a way to go from spectator to participant.

It all started when my friend Arthur Hardy (who publishes Arthur Hardy’s Mardi Gras Guide,  the definitive guide to carnival in New Orleans) let me in on a little secret. While they don’t advertise it, a number of krewes (the organizations who put on the parades) offer outsiders the opportunity to ride on their floats for a one-time membership fee.

So if you happen to be in New Orleans for Mardi Gras, look for me on Float number 20 (pictured above) in the star-studded Krewe of Orpheus parade on Monday night, February 23rd. Or better yet, call the krewe’s offices (504-822-7200) to secure one of the few remaining spots in the parade and come join me in what promises to be a truly extraordinary experience.

Leave a Reply

