Quirky-R-Us

Antarctica's Blood Falls

Antarctica's Blood Falls

I readily admit I get bored easily.  Which is why I’m frequently mystified when I read the results of surveys that rate Americans’ favorite vacation activities.  Honestly, the mere idea of spending the day shopping or lounging by the pool is more than I can take.

Which helps explain why I’m always on the lookout for adventures that are a little more unusual, maybe even downright quirky.  If you can relate, you owe it to yourself to check out Atlas Obscura, a new website that bills itself as a “compendium of the world’s wonders, curiosities, and esoterica.”  There are listings for off-beat attractions on every continent, from Antarctica’s freaky-looking Blood Falls to the Cesium Fountain Atomic Clock in Boulder, Colorado that’s guaranteed not to gain or lose a second in the next 80 million years.

Now, I realize that it’s doubtful I’ll ever get to visit all these places in person.  But, somehow, in a world full of increasingly generic pre-packaged and mass-marketed “adventures,” I for one just feel better knowing these kind of extraordinary experiences are still out there waiting to be discovered.

Leave a Reply

