Ten For ’10: New Year, New Experiences

While other media outlets have been busy looking back at 2009, I’ve spent the last couple of weeks planning some of the great new feature stories I’ll be bringing you in the year ahead.

Now before we go any further, understand that the list below is by no means complete.  In fact, if my math is correct, you can look forward to reading about more than 100 truly remarkable once-in-a-lifetime adventures both here and on the pages of XTRORD.com in the next 12 months.

That said, here’s a quick preview of what I expect to be our 10 coolest extraordinary experience stories for 2010 (click on the links to see previous posts):

Throw Me Something!

I’ll show you how to go from being a spectator to a participant at one of New Orleans’ glitziest and most star-studded Mardi Gras parades.

Olympic Bobsled

If watching the Winter Olympics on TV this February isn’t exciting enough, I’ll tell you about a place where you can experience one of the event’s wildest rides for yourself.

Stand Up Comedy School

Like making people laugh?  Me too.  Whether the five-minutes of stand-up schtick that caps off my comedy school experience will bring down the house or whether I’ll die on stage, well, that remains to be seen.

Machine Gun Shootout

First off, let me say I’m no gun nut.  But attending an event where I can spend the day safely shooting off all manner of machine guns definitely sounds like an extraordinary experience.

Storm-Chasing Tours

Growing up in Ohio, I saw first-hand the devastation tornadoes can leave in their wake.  Even so, I still plan on getting as close as possible to the planet’s most violent weather phenomenon next spring.

CompetiTours

I like to think of myself as a creative guy and a pretty savvy traveler with good problem-solving skills.  Which is why I’m dying to try my hand at this recreational version of the hit TV show The Amazing Race.

Burning Man

In case you haven’t noticed, I’m a big believer in the idea that different is good and very different is even better.  Which makes this week-long freak show (and I mean that in a good way) in the Nevada desert something I’ve just got to experience.

Ghost Hunting

Not sure I believe in ghosts, but I’m definitely open to the possibility.  If that sounds like you, I’ll fill you in on how you can join a group of serious paranormal investigators on one of their outings.

Shark Diving

Shark diving

Even though my wife rolls her eyes every time it comes on cable TV, Jaws is still one of my all-time favorite movies.  So I figure this is the year I need to follow in RoyScheider’s footsteps and finally meet a great white shark face-to-face.

Polar Bear Safari

On a recent behind-the-scenes tour of SeaWorld/San Diego’s WildArctic display, I got an up-close look at a gigantic polar bear—11 feet tall on his hind legs— behind a thick pane of glass.  Now I want to see these magnificent creatures in the wild before they’re gone.

Leave a Reply

